Modern Pentathlon Australia is pleased to announce that nominations for the annual John Pennell Award are now open. 

This Award was established in memory of John Pennell OAM, a former MPA president whose contribution to modern pentathlon in Australia spanned decades, generations and every level of the sport, from grassroots to the Olympics. John was a life member of Modern Pentathlon Australia and Modern Pentathlon Victoria, a President of the Oceania Federation and a UIPM Executive Board Member.  His remarkable contribution to the sport was recognised by the award of one the country’s highest honours, a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) . 

The John Pennell Award recognises and celebrates the people on whom our sport so heavily relies: our volunteers. 

Criteria for nomination:

currently involved in the sport in a volunteer capacity

exerts a positive, unifying influence

acts as a role model for others, particularly in upholding the three values of Olympism, being excellence, respect and friendship

gives generously of their time and/or expertise

contribution/impact is wide-reaching and/or long lasting

MPA is currently calling for nominations from our community.

Fill in the online NOMINATION FORM or email your nomination to by Friday March 22, 2024. The recipient of the John Pennell award will be announced at the Tetrathlon National Championships in April in Geelong.