About Modern Pentathlon Australia

Modern Pentathlon Australia (MPA) is the peak body for the Olympic sport of Modern Pentathlon in Australia. MPA is the body recognised by the world governing body, the Union Internationale de Pentathlon Moderne (UIPM). UIPM is recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

Within Australia, MPA is recognised by the Australian Government/Sport Australia and the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC). There are five state associations which are members of MPA, being the ACT, New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria and Western Australia.

The aim of MPA is to grow and promote the sport in Australia and provide pathways for junior and senior athletes to compete domestically and internationally.

Australian modern pentathletes compete on the international world cup circuit, regional competitions and have enjoyed representation at the Olympic Games since Helsinki in 1952.

MPA could not be prouder of Chloe Esposito winning Olympic gold at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games and Max Esposito finishing seventh. Chloe won Australia’s first Olympic medal in the sport and made modern pentathlon one of the nine sports that Australia won medals at Rio 2016. 

The future is bright for Modern Pentathlon in Australia with plenty of young talent and the new additional sports introduced by the UIPM making it even easier for people to get involved at all levels. 

Organisational Structure

Modern Pentathlon Australia is run by a group of experienced professionals on a voluntary basis, working closely with the state associations.

There are dedicated athletes and fantastic coaches, officials, administrators and other supporters around Australia that volunteer their time to ensure athletes get the opportunity to compete and attend training camps.

Modern Pentathlon Australia Board

President – Ms Kitty Chiller AM (VIC)

Vice President – Mr John Fernon (NSW / ACT)

Vice President and Media – Mr Andrew Reid (NSW)

Treasurer – Ms Hannah Cowther (VIC)

National Secretary 

State Association Presidents:

NSW – John Fernon

QLD – Kim Watkinson

VIC – Jeremy Thompson

WA –  Charis Neumann

Modern Pentathlon Australia Staff

Director of High Performance and Pathways – Hannah Every-Hall

Communications and Media Manager – Shannon Knaus

Ms Kitty Chiller AM

Ms Kitty Chiller AM

President and High Performance Director

About the UIPM

The Union Internationale de Pentathlon Moderne (UIPM) is the world governing body of the Olympic sport of Modern Pentathlon and is recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

The UIPM also oversee five other multi-discipline sports – Tetrathlon, Triathle, Biathle, World Schools Biathlon and Laser-Run. The UIPM has 115 National Federation members and its headquarters has been located in Monaco since 1997.

Find out more

Proudly Supported by

Australian Olympic Committee logo

We are grateful to our sponsors who support our athletes as they chase their dreams. If you'd like to help us grow this fantastic sport in Australia, contact us to find out how to partner with Modern Pentathlon Australia.